The One 

Wow, what a huge few weeks! My thoughts of getting engaged and a slow and relaxed approach to planning a wedding have gone out the window! I have always dreamed of a Hinterland wedding – greenery, stunning views, clear skies and the sounds of nature, all under the stars and plenty of twinkling fairy lights. Little did I know that those dreams aren’t as relaxed as I thought they would be. I couldn’t believe it when I found out that the venues were booked out a year and a half in advance! Just call me the novice bride! My September 2016 wedding was either going to be September 2017 or earlier in the year 2016. After much deliberation, and a lot of “June is a beautiful time of the year…” from my Ma, my fiancé and I settled on June 2016 – an almost winter wedding. Fingers crossed for those beautiful crisp clear days, blue skies and moderate temperatures.

Our other major dilemma was the venue. While they were all booked out in September, some still had some availability for June. We knew exactly what we wanted and we visited about 10 different venues until we found “The One”. “The One” had everything we were after. It had the view, it had the greenery, it had a winery with beautiful vines, it had welcoming staff, a great package and fantastic food. It had the capacity and it had that slightly upper-class rustic feel and manicured lawns but still felt warm, like you were coming home.

It was perfect.

So, after a hectic month of rushing and panicking we are now booked in for a June 2016 wedding at Flaxton Gardens in the Sunshine Coast Hinterland and we are beyond happy and excited. Two things checked off the list now and a year to go, I can relax now right? Haha NOT!

  

Leave a comment